What is PREDA?

The Peace Region Economic Development Alliance (PREDA) is one of 9 regional economic development alliances (aka..REDA) in the province of Alberta.

PREDA is a partnership of 47 municipalities, educational institutions, business groups and Community Futures working together to guide regional economic development of Alberta’s northwest – affectionately referred to as the Peace Region (click here for map link).


PREDA was incorporated as a not for profit Corporation under The Companies Act of Alberta in October 2000.

Our Mission is to continue to grow a vibrant economy that explores, promotes and facilitates new emerging opportunities, competitiveness and innovation.

Our Vision is one where the Peace Country has: planned and balanced growth; strong stewardship of its resources; and the ability to proactively manage economic change.

Executive Committee

The PREDA Executive Team is elected from PREDA membership at the Annual General Meeting. Positions are held for two years. Byelections are held sooner if a position becomes vacant.

The Executive manages the annual operations, makes financial decisions, and acts as the personnel committee.

Elaine Garrow – MD of Spirit River, Chair Cindy Hockley – Village of Berwyn – Director
Ken Hildebrand – Town of Sexsmith – Director Carolyn Kolebaba – Northern Sunrise – Director
Daryl BeestonĀ – County of Grande Prairie, Director Deanne Wendland – Birch Hills County, Director

Videos – Canada’s Peace Region